menu

Iberian and Latin American Studies

Research menu

Research

Elena Carrera

Senior Lecturer In Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One 127
+44 (0)20 7882 8429
e.carrera@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : History of ideas, critical theory, early modern autobiography, gender and power in early modern Spain, history of madness, the emotions in medieval and early modern Europe

Patricia D'Allemand

Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One 122
+44 (0)20 7882 8296
p.e.dallemand@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Latin American literature, cultural history and history of ideas, with particular emphasis upon Colombia, the Andean region and Southern Cone countries

Trevor Dadson

Professor of Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One
+44 (0)20 7882 5738
t.j.dadson@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Spanish Golden Age (poetry, Cervantes, textual editing, book ownership and literacy, cultural, literary and social history); contemporary Spanish poetry (1950-the present)

Angela Dorado-Otero

Postdoctoral Teaching and Research Fellow in Iberian and Latin American Studies
a.dorado-otero@qmul.ac.uk

Rosa Vidal Doval

Departmental exams coordinator
Room : Arts One 1.26
+44 (0)20 7882 8430
r.vidal@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Medieval Spanish history, anti-Semitism, conversos, religious polemics, preaching and sermons

OMAR GARCÍA

DEAN FOR TAUGHT PROGRAMMES (UNDERGRADUATE AND POSTGRADUATE), FACULTY OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES
Room : Arts One 134
+44 (0)20 7882 8302
o.a.garcia@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Migration, Multilingualism & Culture; Censorship, Exile & Cultural Resistance; Contemporary Iberian & Latin American Studies (Cuba, Central America, & Spain); Poetry, Drama, Art and Film; Comparative Literature and Culture

John London

Chair of Department, Director of Centre for Catalan Studies
Room : 1.33 Arts One
j.london@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Catalan culture; European theatre; Fascist culture; Futurism; translation (theory, history, and practice)

Patricia Silva McNeill

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
p.silva-mcneill@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Poetry, Modernism, Lusophone Literary and Cultural Studies, Comparative Literature, Visual Cultures

Parvati Nair

Professor of Hispanic, Cultural and Migration Studies
Room : Arts One 118
+44 (0)20 7882 8317
p.nair@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Theories and representations of migration, mobility, urban spaces, displacement, ethnicity and gender

Rose Mary Abrâo Nascif

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2016-2017)
rosemma@terra.com.br

Research interests : Migration Literature; Translation (Portuguese/Spanish); Comparative Literature (Hispanic American and Brazilian Literature); Gender Studies.

Ralph Penny

Professor Emeritus of Romance Philology and Research Professor
r.j.penny@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : History of Spanish, dialectology, language variation and change, sociolinguistics

Christopher Pountain

Emeritus Professor of Spanish Linguistics
+44 (0)20 7882 8323
c.j.pountain@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : The linguistics of Spanish and the Romance languages, Historical syntax, Variation in the history of Spanish, Language standardization, Language contact, Using corpora in linguistic research

Dr. Sonia Fatima Schwendler

The Newton Fund was awarded to Dr Schwendler and Professor Vieira to develop a pioneering project that will contribute to social welfare in Brazil’s countryside by investigating and promoting the inclusion of gender issues in the syllabi of rural schools.
s.f.schwendler@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Gender studies, education and social movements, comparative Latin American and agrarian reform studies.

Else Vieira

Coordinator of Portuguese; Reviews Editor of the Hispanic Research Journal; Director of Graduate Programmes in Hispanic Studies
Room : Arts One 141B
+44 (0)20 7882 8335
e.vieira@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Brazilian Studies and Cinema; Lusophone African Cinema; Argentine and Chilean Cinemas; Gender Studies; Translation Studies.

Jane Whetnall

Honorary Research Fellow
j.l.whetnall@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top